Bill calling for the creation of Orlu State passes first reading in House of Representatives

MEMBERS of the House of Representatives have approved a bill creating a new state in the southeast geo-political zone to be known as Orlu State that would bring the total number of federating units in the nation to 37.

At the moment, Nigeria has 36 states, with four of her six geo-political zones each having six states but the northwest has seven and the southeast has five. This morning, a bill to create Orlu State with its capital in Orlu in current Imo State passed its first reading and should it get passed, the southeast will get some parity when it comes to resource distribution.

This bill, seeking to alter the 1999 constitution was sponsored by the member representing Ideato North/ Ideato South Federal Constituency, Hon Ikenga Ikeagwuonu Ugochinyere and 15 others. His proposed legislation, indicated that the proposed state will be carved out from modern day Imo, Abia and Anambra states.

According to the proposed legislation, local government areas that will form part of the proposed state include Orlu, Orsu, Oru West, Oru East, Ideato North, Ideato South, Njaba, Nkwerre, Nwangele and Isu. Others are Oguta, Ohaji Egbema, Onuimo, Ihiala, Uga, Ihiala, Uli, Ozubulu, Akokwa, Arondizuogu, Umuchu, Umunze and Umuaku.

Others are New Ideato North, Nwabosi West, Nwabosi East, Owerre Nkworji, Alaoma, Amaifeke, Owerrebiri and Umuowa. Hon Ugochinyere said that if the proposed state is created, Ideato would become a senatorial district. He begged his colleagues in the National Assembly for support to ensure that the bill scale through second reading.