Ex-governors Akpabio and Ambode make Buhari's initial list of 16 ministerial appointees

PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari his published a list of his first batch of ministerial appointees involving a few former governors and prominent members of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) like Akinwunmi Ambode and Godswill Akpabio.


Since being sworn-in on May 29, President Buhari has kept the nation waiting with his list of ministerial nominees. It had been expected that he would send the list to the senate for verification immediately he assumed office for his second tenure but the president kept everyone guessing.


With the senate, however, due to go on its summer recess at the end of the month, the president has sent in his first batch of nominees. Containing 16 names, it includes former governors Ambode of Lagos State, Akpabio of Akwa Ibom State, Bindow Jibrilla of Adamawa State and George Akume of Benue State.


Returning to office for a second term are Rotimi Amaechi, Ogbonnaya Onu, Chris Ngige, Hadi Sirika, Abubakar Malami and Abdulrahman Dambazau. In the list released this afternoon by President Buhari's spokesman Femi Adesina, not all the returning ministers are going back to their former offices for instance.


Some high profile ministers were not on the new list and it is not yet clear if they have been dropped or may return later when the full cabinet is formed. Among those not named include Babatunde Fashola, Lai Mohammed, Ibe Kachikwu, Audu Ogbeh,        Zainab Ahmed, Geoffrey Onyeama and Solomon Dalung.



Preliminary list

Kayode Adesola (Ogun) - Labour and productivity

Rotimi Ameachi (Rivers) - Transportation

Chris Ngige (Anambra) - Communications

Hadi Sirika (Katsina) -  Minister of state, Aviation

Akinwunmi Ambode (Lagos) - Budget and National planning

Abdulrahman Dambazau (Kano) - Interior

Fatima Gambo (Taraba) - Women Affairs

Ogbonnaya Onu (Ebonyi) - Science and Technology

Abubakar Malami (Kebbi) - Justice

Ahmed Mohammed (Nassarawa) - Industry, Trade and Investment

Barnabas Bantas (Kaduna) - Minister of state, Education

George Akume (Benue) - Minister of state, Petroleum

Bindow Jibrilla (Adamawa) - Federal Capital Territory

Halima Babayo (Yobe) - Minister of state Foreign Affairs

Adebayo Adelabu (Oyo) - Finance

Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom) - Niger Delta Affairs