Controversial APC spokesman Joe Igboekwe is one of Governor Sanwoolu's commissioner nominees

CONTROVERSIAL All Progressives Congress (APC) spokesman in Lagos State Joe Igboekwe is one of the nominees whose names Governor Babajide Sanwoolu has forwarded to the state house assembly for confirmation as a commissioner.


Highly vocal and regarded as the voice of the Igbo community in Lagos State, Mr Igboekwe has always courted controversy by confronting those who claim Ndigbo are marginalised in Lagos. He has also been a staunch and loyal supporter of President Muhammadu Buhari and for his troubles is now one of the 13 commissioner nominees appointed by Governor Sanwoolu.


Only yesterday, Mr Igboekwe appeared on national TV saying anyone who criticised the Buhari administration for non-performance was a liar from the pit of hell. Despite his explosive nature, Mr Igboekwe is expected to be ratified as either a commissioner or special adviser by the Lagos State House of Assembly.


Yesterday, Governor Sanwoolu sent the final list of 13 nominees to the Lagos State House of Assembly four weeks after  he sent the first batch, which the lawmakers are currently screening. Gboyega Akosile. Governor Sanwoolu's deputy chief press secretary, said the second list had names of accomplished politicians and technocrats who understand the current need of Lagos and the development agenda of the governor.


Full list of second batch of nominees:


Mr Oladele Ajayi

Mr Oluwatoyin Fayinka

Mrs Yetunde Arobieke

M. Olanrewaju Sanusi

Mr Joe Igboekwe

Mr Bonu Solomon Saanu

Architect  Kabiru Ahmed

Mrs Lola Akande

Prince Anofi Olanrewaju Elegushi

Mrs Solape Hammond

Mr Moruf Akinderu Fatai

Mrs Shulamite Olufunke Adebolu

Mr Tokunbo Wahab