Rohr releases provisional list of 50 ahead of Nations Cup with surprise recalls for Ambrose and Moses

SUPER Eagles head coach Gernot Rohr has released a 50-man provisional list for the 2019 African Cup of Nations taking place this summer in Egypt with a surprise recall for Derby Country centreback Efe Ambrose who has been in the wilderness for three years.


Between June 21 and July 19, the 32nd African Cup of Nations will be taking place in Egypt and Nigeria is expected to be among the favourites to win the tournament. Following the draw last week, Nigeria was drawn in Group B alongside Guinea, Madagascar and Burundi and will be taking a squad of 23 to the tournament.


As preparations begin, Mr Rohr has released his initial list of 50, which will be whittled down as the team play a series of friendlies in the run-up to the tournament. Ambrose, 30, who last played for the Eagles in 2014 when he was a Celtic player, is the biggest surprise on the list that includes the usual suspects like skipper Mikel Obi, who has been recalled after missing Nigeria's games since the World Cup.


Fernebahce winger Victor Moses, who announced his international football retirement in 2018, has also been recalled. Mr Rohr has already sent the list to the Nigerian Football Federation and all of the players are expected in camp when the season ends late next month and preparations begin.


Full list



Francis Uzoho

Ikechukwu Ezenwa

Daniel Akpeyi



Kenneth Omeruo

Shehu Abdullahi

William Troost-Ekong

Leon Balogun

Semi Ajayi

Jamilu Collins

Chidozie Awaziem

Ola Aina

Efe Ambrose

Bryan Idowu

Uche Agbo

Sincere Seth

Stephen Eze

Chima Akas



Alex Iwobi

Wilfred Ndidi

Oghenekharo Etebo

John Ogu

Ogenyi Onazi

Mikel Obi

Azeez Aremu

Kelechi Nwakali

Onyeka Frank



Ahmed Musa

Moses Simon

Henry Onyekuru

Samuel Kalu

Odion Ighalo

Victor Oshimen

Kelechi Iheanacho

Dennis Bonaventure

Anthony Nwakaeme

Taiwo Awoniyi

Isaac Success

Samuel Chukwueze

Taiwo Awoniyi

Ibrahim Alhassan

Phillip Azango

Ebere Eze

Imoh Ezekiel

Ezekiel Henry

Blessing Eleke

Aminu Umar

Stephen Odey

Paul Onuachu